Is my sexual harassment prevention training for Washington D.C. compliant?
D.C. employers must provide sexual harassment prevention training within the first 3 months of a new employee's start date. Here's everything you need to know to remain compliant.
Newly hired employees must receive the training within 90 days of hire unless the employee participated in training within the prior two years. Business operators, owners, and managers must be trained every two years.
New training law for tipped employees in Washington D.C.
The District of Columbia enacted the Tipped Wage Workers Fairness Act of 2018 which became effective on December 13, 2018, subject to Congressional budget approval. In part, the new law, which is supposed to go into effect on July 1, 2019 (a date subject to change due to budget approval), requires that businesses that employ tipped workers must train all of their employees about how to respond to, intervene in, and prevent sexual harassment by co-workers, management, and patrons. The training can be in person or online.
The course may be provided by the Office of Human Rights or by providers certified by the Office of Human Rights. New employees must be trained within 90 days of hire; pre-existing employees must be trained within 2 years from July 1, 2019 to be trained. Training for employees may be in person or online. Managers must attend in-person training at least once every 2 years and owners or operators of businesses that employ tipped workers must attend in person or online training at least once every 2 years.
Can Washington D.C. employers provide sexual harassment training online?
Yes, in fact, the Research Institute of America concluded that eLearning boosts retention rates by 25% to 60%. If you choose to provide sexual harassment prevention training through interactive E-learning, make sure that you are working with a business or institution that specializes in technology and is partnering with subject matter experts who specialize in the law. E-learning is an effective, low-cost way to reach 100% of your workforce.
Does Virginia require harassment training?
As of August, 2021, Virginia does not have any specific legal requirement for sexual harassment training for private sector employees. However, sexual harassment training can help employers avoid lawsuits and reduce liability which can be costly.
As workplace and labor laws continue to evolve, it's important to know your state's sexual harassment prevention training requirements. Delivering training that's accessible and relatable is essential. It ensures a safe and inclusive workplace.